Business Overview

Moody's Corporation (NYSE: MCO)

8 September 2026

Evidence base: Moody's SEC filings FY2016–FY2025 10-Ks, 10-Qs through Q2 2026 and the 2026 proxy,

supplemented by SEC, ESMA, BIS, EBA, FSB, Federal Reserve and SIFMA data and by competitors' own filings.

This is a business analysis. It is not a valuation and not a recommendation.

1. Executive Snapshot

What the business isTwo businesses under one roof: Moody's Ratings (MIS), an issuer-paid credit rating agency, and Moody's Analytics (MA), a subscription data and analytics business. FY2025 revenue $7,718M, split MIS $4,119M / MA $3,599M (FY2025 10-K).
IndustryCredit ratings — a regulated, licensed oligopoly. Moody's, S&P and Fitch together held 93.4% of all outstanding US credit ratings at 31 Dec 2024 (SEC Office of Credit Ratings staff report) and 91.9% of EU CRA turnover in 2024 (ESMA Art. 8d calculation).
How it makes money, in one sentenceDebt issuers pay MIS a fee to rate each new borrowing and an annual fee to keep that rating monitored for as long as the instrument is outstanding, while MA sells the surrounding data, research and workflow software on subscription.
The unit, and what it earnsOne rated debt transaction. It pays a fee at issuance and then an annuity for life. In FY2025 that produced $2,741M of transaction revenue and $1,378M of recurring monitoring revenue, at a 63.6% MIS adjusted operating margin (FY2025 10-K).
What protects itRegistration as an NRSRO and its EU/UK equivalents; investment mandates and index rules that name specific agencies (SEC OCR); and a monitoring back-book that pays whether or not anyone issues this year.
What drives earningsRated issuance volume above all; then MA's annualized recurring revenue, $3,661M at 30 June 2026 growing 9%; then annual price increases on the monitoring book; then a shrinking share count, 195.4M diluted in FY2016 to 175.9M in H1 2026.
What to watchGlobal rated issuance; the MIS transaction-versus-recurring mix, now 70/30 in H1 2026 against 56/44 at the FY2022 trough; MA ARR growth by line; and how much of the buyback is funded from cash rather than free cash flow.
Cycle exposureHigh, and currently at or above the prior peak. MIS adjusted operating margin reached 68.3% in Q2 2026 against a 62.2% prior peak (FY2021) and a 51.8% trough (FY2022).

2. What the Company Does

Debt investors face a problem that does not scale: assessing the creditworthiness of thousands of borrowers, each with its own accounts, covenants and jurisdiction. Rather than every investor doing that work separately, the market settled on a shared answer produced once and read by everyone — and, unusually, the borrower rather than the reader pays for it. That inversion is the foundation of the whole business. The issuer buys the rating because a rating widens the pool of investors permitted to buy the paper and narrows the spread it pays, so the fee is set against a benefit the issuer captures rather than against the cost of producing the opinion.

The unit is one rated debt transaction. Trace it through: an issuer preparing a bond engages Moody's Ratings, analysts assess the credit and a committee assigns a rating, and the issuer pays a fee at the point of issuance — transaction revenue. The rating then has to be maintained for as long as the instrument is outstanding, and the issuer pays an annual monitoring fee for that maintenance — recurring revenue. One unit therefore pays twice: once at birth, and then every year until the debt matures.

The relationship between those two payments is the single most important structural fact about the ratings business, and it is disclosed. In FY2025 MIS earned $2,741M of transaction revenue against $1,378M of recurring revenue, a 67/33 split (FY2025 10-K). The recurring half is an annuity on debt already issued in prior years and does not depend on this year's issuance at all, so the back-book is the floor and only the transaction half swings. Between FY2022 and FY2025 recurring revenue moved from roughly $1,188M to $1,378M — up about 16% — while transaction revenue went from roughly $1,511M to $2,741M, up 81% (FY2022 10-K; FY2025 10-K). The floor rises slowly and steadily; everything above it is the cycle.

The fee itself is very small relative to what is being financed. Against roughly $6.5 trillion of rated debt issuance in 2025, MIS transaction revenue of $2,741M works out to about four basis points of proceeds (inferred; the 2026 proxy states the issuance figure but prints the units as billion, an evident error at that scale, and the Q2 2026 prepared remarks give a consistent ~4.4bp against issuance stated as above $2 trillion in the quarter). Four basis points is trivial next to the spread saving a rating buys, which is why annual price increases are absorbed rather than resisted, and why the filings cite them as a routine contributor to recurring revenue growth (Q2 2026 10-Q).

Moody's Analytics sells the material around the rating rather than the rating itself: credit and economic research, company and credit data feeds, and workflow software for banking, insurance and know-your-customer compliance. It is almost entirely subscription — 96% recurring in FY2025 (FY2025 10-K) — and is measured on annualized recurring revenue, which stood at $3,661M at 30 June 2026, up 9% organically (Q2 2026 10-Q). Growth is uneven across the three lines: KYC ARR grew 13%, Data and Information 8%, and Research and Insights, the analyst-written credit research line, only 6%.

Management has been narrowing MA rather than broadening it. Learning Solutions was sold in Q4 2025 and the Regulatory and ALM Solutions business closed to Regnology on 5 May 2026 for a $179M pre-tax gain with up to $119M of contingent consideration still outstanding (FY2025 10-K; Q2 2026 10-Q). Both came out of the Banking line, whose reported revenue consequently fell 10% in H1 2026 even as its ARR grew 10%. The exits are the more informative number: these were the parts of MA that did not carry the margin, and the gap between a 10% decline in reported revenue and 10% growth in ARR is the clearest available measure of how much of the Banking line was being carried rather than compounding.

3. Industry, Competitive Position & Moat

The credit ratings industry sells a shared, portable credit opinion, and its structure has barely moved in two decades. The three largest agencies held 93.4% of all outstanding US credit ratings at 31 December 2024, against 94.2% a year earlier and 98.8% in 2007, the first year the SEC collected the data (SEC Office of Credit Ratings staff report). In the EU the same three took 91.9% of registered CRA turnover on 2024 revenue, against 92.2% on 2020 revenue (ESMA CRA market share calculation). ESMA's own analysis puts the market's Herfindahl-Hirschman index at 3,815, far above the 2,500 threshold for high concentration, and states plainly that concentration "has not evolved since the introduction of the CRAR" — the EU regulation written specifically to increase competition.

Share by count and share by revenue are different things, and the gap is where Moody's position actually sits. On the SEC's count basis at end-2023, S&P held 43.5% of outstanding corporate issuer ratings against Moody's 26.1% and Fitch's 16.8%. On revenue the picture inverts toward parity: MIS earned $4,119M in FY2025 against S&P Global's Ratings division at $4,724M (FY2025 10-K; S&P Global FY2025 results). Moody's is at roughly 87% of S&P's ratings scale by revenue while holding around 60% of its rating count in corporates, because the count is dominated by government and municipal ratings — over three-quarters of all outstanding ratings — which are numerous and individually small.

What actually keeps entrants out is regulatory and mandate-driven rather than technological. The SEC's own staff report names the binding barriers: investment guidelines that require ratings from specified agencies, index-inclusion rules that do the same, the requirement that an applicant produce three years of qualified-institutional-buyer certifications before it can register, and the compliance cost of the post-Dodd-Frank regime. ESMA's study of small European CRAs found them confined to single-rating local mandates, with the multi-rating market where issuers commission two or more opinions "shared almost exclusively among the large CRAs." A new entrant can produce a competent opinion; it cannot produce the twenty-year default history and the mandate eligibility that make the opinion usable.

One commonly cited barrier is weaker than it looks. Bank capital rules are often described as forcing demand for external ratings, but the European Banking Authority found that external ratings drive under 10% of Standardised Approach risk-weighted exposure and around 4% of total credit-risk RWEA across all approaches, and that no member state's law creates mechanistic reliance. The regulatory-capital channel is real but narrow. The mandate and index channels are doing most of the work, and those are private contractual conventions rather than law — which makes them stickier in practice and harder for a regulator to legislate away, but also means the moat rests on convention rather than statute.

Against its closest comparable, Moody's ratings business earns similar margins on a more cyclical revenue mix. S&P Global's Ratings division ran a 65% adjusted operating margin in FY2025 against MIS at 63.6%. But S&P split its ratings revenue 52/48 between transaction and non-transaction, where MIS ran 67/33 (S&P Global FY2025 results; FY2025 10-K). Moody's therefore has a smaller annuity behind a larger swing factor, and MIS was 53% of Moody's FY2025 revenue where Ratings was 31% of S&P Global's — on both counts the more concentrated and more issuance-levered of the two. Fitch, the third member of the oligopoly, is owned privately by Hearst and publishes no financials at all, so a material share of the industry's economics is simply unobservable.

Moody's Analytics is in a genuinely different competitive position, and a weaker one. Judged against the subscription-data businesses Moody's itself names as pay comparators, MA's 33.1% FY2025 adjusted operating margin sits well below MSCI's 60.8% adjusted EBITDA margin, Verisk's 56.2% and ICE's Fixed Income and Data Services at a 45% adjusted operating margin, while its 9% ARR growth is roughly in line with MSCI's 9.3% organic growth and above Verisk's 6.6%. MSCI also discloses a 94.4% retention rate; Moody's discloses no retention figure at all. Management's own target is mid-to-high 30s margin by year-end 2027 (Q2 2026 prepared remarks), which would still leave MA below the peers it is benchmarked against.

The industry rewards scale, regulatory standing and an accumulated back-book, and it punishes anyone trying to buy a position rather than compound one. On that test Moody's Ratings is unambiguously the kind of company that wins here — it has all three, and the SEC and ESMA data show that fifteen years of deliberate pro-competition regulation failed to dislodge it. Moody's Analytics is not yet that kind of company: it competes against data franchises with materially better unit economics, and its margin gap to them is the honest measure of how much of the group's quality is the ratings business alone.

4. Growth Engine

Revenue grew 9% in FY2025 to $7,718M, with MIS and MA both up 9%, and accelerated in the first half of 2026 to $4,264M, up 12%, as MIS grew 16% and MA 6% (FY2025 10-K; Q2 2026 10-Q). Almost none of that is acquired. Cash paid for acquisitions was $23M in H1 2026, $227M in FY2025, $221M in FY2024 and $3M in FY2023 — against $1,927M for RMS alone in 2021 (Q2 2026 10-Q; FY2025 10-K; FY2022 10-K). Reported growth is therefore very close to organic, and in MA it is actually lower: MA reported 6% growth in H1 2026 against 7% organic constant-currency, because two divested businesses are still in the prior-year base. This is one of the rare cases where the headline understates the underlying rate rather than flattering it.

The drivers, ranked most to least impactful:

  • Rated issuance volume — cyclical. This is the swing factor and everything else is secondary to it. Corporate Finance revenue grew 19% and Public, Project and Infrastructure Finance 23% in H1 2026, and the 10-Q attributes both to specific and identifiable sources: leveraged finance and M&A loan financing on tight credit spreads, "investment-grade issuance related to continued AI-related financing by hyperscalers," and "data centers and broader build-out of technology infrastructure" (Q2 2026 10-Q). Moody's raised its own 2026 rated-issuance assumption from low-single-digit to mid-single-digit growth between the February and July releases.
  • Moody's Analytics ARR — structural. $3,661M at 30 June 2026, growing 9% organically, 96% recurring. This is the part of the company that does not care what the bond market does in any given quarter, and at roughly 47% of group revenue it is what makes a 29% collapse in MIS revenue a 12% collapse at group level rather than a 29% one.
  • Annual price increases on the monitoring book — structural. The mechanism is disclosed rather than assumed: FIG recurring revenue rose in H1 2026 "primarily reflecting the impact of annual price increases and higher monitored credits" (Q2 2026 10-Q). Because monitored credits accumulate, this line grows even in a year when nothing new is issued.
  • Cost programme — management-driven. The Strategic and Operational Efficiency programme was expanded in July 2026 to target $300–350M of annualized savings, up from $250–300M, at a cost of $285–330M and completion by end-2027 (Q2 2026 10-Q). Not revenue growth, but it converts directly into the margin and EPS lines.
  • Share count — management-driven. Diluted shares have fallen from 195.4M in FY2016 to 179.9M in FY2025 to 175.9M on average in H1 2026 (FY2016 10-K; FY2025 10-K; Q2 2026 10-Q). Over that span the reduction is around 10%, so roughly a tenth of long-run EPS growth is arithmetic rather than operating.
  • Private credit ratings — structural, but unquantified. Moody's reports over 40% growth in private-credit-related transactions year on year and more than 110 new first-time mandates in Q2 2026 (Q2 2026 prepared remarks), and has appointed a global head of private credit. It discloses no revenue, no ratings count and no pricing for any of it, so the size of this driver cannot be established from the sources — see Section 7.

Guidance history is itself evidence about which driver matters. Entering 2025 management guided MIS revenue growth in the low-single-digit range on a low-single-digit rated-issuance assumption, and delivered 9%; adjusted diluted EPS guided at $14.00–14.50 came in at $14.94 (FY2024 and FY2025 results releases). The 2026 pattern is the same in the other direction: the issuance assumption was raised mid-year while the margin and revenue-growth ranges were held. Management can forecast its own costs, its ARR and its buyback; it cannot forecast the bond market, and the guidance record shows it does not try to.

5. Margin, Cash & Capital Allocation

The margin mechanics of the ratings business come down to one number: the marginal rating costs almost nothing to produce. Between FY2022 and FY2025 MIS revenue rose by $1,420M and MIS adjusted operating income rose by $1,258M, an incremental margin near 89% (FY2022 10-K; FY2025 10-K). The analysts, the methodologies, the committees and the compliance apparatus are largely in place regardless of how many deals come to market, so incremental issuance drops through to profit almost intact. This is why MIS's adjusted operating margin has climbed from 51.8% in FY2022 to 63.6% in FY2025 and 68.3% in Q2 2026 on revenue growth alone, with no disclosed change in pricing structure.

The same arithmetic runs backwards, and it did. From FY2021 to FY2022 MIS revenue fell $1,113M and adjusted operating income fell $838M, a decremental margin of about 75%. Costs are not fixed in the strict sense — the largest is compensation, $2,574M or 33.3% of revenue in FY2025, and the incentive portion flexes with performance against targets (FY2025 10-K) — but they are sticky enough that three-quarters of a revenue decline reaches operating income. Any margin figure quoted for this business is therefore a statement about where issuance is, not about how well it is run.

Group adjusted operating margin has followed MIS: 45.5% in FY2016, 42.6% in FY2022, 48.1% in FY2024, 51.1% in FY2025 and 54.2% in H1 2026. MA's own margin has improved more slowly and more genuinely, from 22.9% in FY2016 to 30.2% in FY2022 to 33.1% in FY2025, because that improvement came from mix and from exiting lower-margin lines rather than from volume.

FY2016FY2022FY2024FY2025
Total revenue ($M)3,6045,4687,0887,718
MIS revenue ($M)2,3712,6993,7934,119
MA revenue ($M)1,2332,7693,2953,599
Adjusted operating margin45.5%42.6%48.1%51.1%
Adjusted diluted EPS$4.81$8.57$12.47$14.94
Diluted shares (M)195.4184.7182.7179.9

Sources: FY2016, FY2022 and FY2025 10-Ks; FY2024 and FY2023 figures as presented in the FY2025 10-K. Years chosen to show the pre-Bureau van Dijk base, the FY2022 issuance trough, and the recovery. Not fully comparable: adjusted EPS began excluding amortization of acquired intangibles from FY2020, widening the GAAP-to-adjusted gap after FY2016; and MA's revenue sub-lines were redefined in FY2022 without a one-to-one mapping to the prior categories, so MA line-level history across this span is not comparable.

Cash conversion is close to complete and capital intensity is minimal. Operating cash flow was $2,901M in FY2025 against capex of $326M, leaving $2,575M of free cash flow — roughly 33% of revenue (FY2025 10-K). H1 2026 produced $1,532M on the same basis. Capex has never exceeded $326M in any year examined, and the company does not disclose a maintenance-versus-growth split, so the sustaining requirement cannot be separated from the discretionary one. Working capital is not a meaningful use of cash; there is no inventory and receivables move with billing rather than with production.

Where that cash has gone over FY2023 through H1 2026, ranked: share repurchases $5,554M, dividends $2,250M, capex $1,100M, acquisitions $474M, and modest net debt reduction. The ranking is the finding. This is the same company that paid roughly $3.3bn for Bureau van Dijk in 2017 and $1,927M for RMS in 2021; over the last three and a half years it has spent less on acquisitions than it spends on capex, and more than eleven times as much buying its own shares. Whatever the stated strategy, the revealed preference is that management currently sees more value in the existing business than in another one.

The pace of that buyback has moved beyond what the business generates. In H1 2026 Moody's returned $2,165M in repurchases plus $365M in dividends against $1,532M of free cash flow — about 165% of it — funding the gap by drawing cash and equivalents from $2,448M to $1,496M while shareholders' equity fell from $4,054M to $3,025M (Q2 2026 10-Q). Total debt was unchanged at roughly $7.1bn with no new issuance, and $1.8bn of the $4.0bn October 2025 authorization remains. Full-year guidance is up to $3.0bn of repurchases against $2.7–2.9bn of free cash flow. None of this is stressed — the credit facility covenant is 4.0x total debt to EBITDA and Moody's is nowhere near it — but the buffer is being spent at a cyclical high, which is the moment it is cheapest to spend and least available later.

How management is paid shows what it optimizes. The 2025 annual incentive was two-thirds financial, weighted MIS operating income 50%, MA operating income 25% and MA ARR 25%; the three-year performance shares are weighted MCO adjusted EPS 50%, a proprietary MIS ratings-performance measure 25% and MA cumulative revenue 25%, with no relative total-shareholder-return metric at all (2026 proxy). The 2023–2025 cycle vested at 159% of target, with adjusted EPS effectively at the maximum and MA cumulative revenue of $9,995M below its $10,357M target. Two observations follow: the plan is levered to MIS operating income, the most cyclical line in the company, and the EPS metric that maxed out is the one buybacks mechanically assist.

Two comparability warnings apply to any series drawn across this period. MA's sub-lines were renamed from Research Data and Analytics / Enterprise Risk Solutions / Professional Services to Decision Solutions / Research and Insights / Data and Information in FY2022, and the FY2022 recast of FY2020 does not map one-to-one onto the old categories, so MA line-level history before 2022 is not comparable. Separately, adjusted EPS began excluding amortization of acquired intangibles from FY2020, which mechanically widens the gap between GAAP and adjusted EPS in later years relative to FY2016 — a definitional change, not an operating improvement.

6. Cyclicality, Constraints & What to Monitor

This business has been through two severe issuance downturns and both are on the record. In 2008 MIS revenue fell 32.3% from its 2007 peak, from $1,779.9M to $1,204.7M, and by 2010 at $1,405.0M was still 21% below that peak — three years without recovery (Moody's historical results releases). In 2022 rated issuance fell 31%, MIS revenue fell 29% from $3,812M to $2,699M, transaction revenue fell $1,128M, MIS adjusted operating margin fell 1,040 basis points from 62.2% to 51.8%, and group diluted EPS fell 37% from $11.78 to $7.44 (FY2022 10-K). Corporate Finance alone fell 39%.

The recovery from 2022 took three years: MIS revenue went $2,699M, then $2,860M in FY2023, then $3,793M in FY2024, then $4,119M in FY2025. That is the honest shape of this cycle — a sharp single-year contraction followed by a multi-year climb back, twice, twenty years apart.

Two features of that downturn are worth separating. First, the group fell far less than the segment: total revenue declined 12% in 2022 against MIS's 29%, because Moody's Analytics grew 15% in the same year. That cushion is the strategic case for owning MA at all, and it is the one thing the segment's mediocre margin buys. Second, Moody's fell harder than its closest peer. S&P Global's Ratings revenue declined 25.5% and its margin about 700 basis points in 2022, against Moody's 29% and 1,040 basis points, for the structural reasons set out in Section 3 — a larger ratings share of group revenue sitting on a smaller recurring base.

The kind of shock matters more than its severity. In 2020, a genuine economic crisis, MIS revenue rose 15% — issuers rushed to raise liquidity and refinance, and only structured finance fell (FY2020 10-K). What hurts this business is not a growth shock but a rate and spread shock that closes the primary market. That distinction is worth holding onto, because it means the usual recession framing points the wrong way.

On where the cycle sits now, the evidence is unambiguous and points one way. MIS adjusted operating margin reached 68.3% in Q2 2026 against a prior peak of 62.2% in FY2021 and a trough of 51.8% in FY2022. MIS revenue in H1 2026 annualizes to roughly $4.8bn against the FY2021 peak of $3,812M. Volume, price and margin are all at or above their previous highs simultaneously, and management raised its issuance assumption mid-year rather than trimming it. A 63.6% or 68.3% margin at this point in the cycle is a different fact from the same margin at a trough, and every forward figure in the company's guidance rests on issuance continuing at this level.

The downside mechanism most specific to the current setup is the composition of what is driving issuance. The 10-Q names AI-related hyperscaler financing and data-centre build-out as the drivers of the investment-grade and infrastructure strength, and tight credit spreads as the enabling condition across all four ratings lines. Both are financing conditions rather than business conditions. A spread-widening episode that closes the primary market would take the transaction line down at roughly 75% decremental margin, against a recurring floor that in FY2025 was $1,378M in MIS and $3,462M in MA — the floor is real and it is large, but it is roughly 63% of group revenue, not all of it.

Durable — likely to survive ten yearsBorrowed — currently helping
93.4% Big Three share of outstanding US ratings, essentially unchanged for a decade (SEC OCR)AI-hyperscaler and data-centre financing, named in the 10-Q as the driver of investment-grade and infrastructure issuance
NRSRO and ESMA registration, and mandate and index rules naming specific agenciesTight credit spreads, cited across all four MIS ratings lines
$1,378M MIS recurring monitoring revenue on debt already issuedMIS adjusted operating margin of 68.3%, above the 62.2% prior peak
MA at 96% recurring and $3,661M ARR growing 9%$179M pre-tax divestiture gain in Q2 2026 GAAP earnings
Annual price increases absorbed at ~4bp of proceeds financed$300–350M of restructuring savings not yet fully banked

Durable items are structural features of the franchise; borrowed items are conditions currently present that the sources do not establish as permanent.

What to monitor, and where it is published: global rated issuance and the transaction-versus-recurring split, in Moody's quarterly release and the revenue note of each 10-Q; MA ARR by line, same source; the MIS adjusted operating margin against its 51.8% trough; US fixed income issuance by category, in SIFMA's quarterly statistics; leveraged loans outstanding, $1.38tn and up 12.6% year on year at Q4 2025, in the Federal Reserve's Financial Stability Report; private credit market size, in the Financial Stability Board's and IMF's periodic reports; and NRSRO market shares, in the SEC Office of Credit Ratings' annual staff report and ESMA's annual Article 8d calculation.

7. Risks, Unknowns & Questions for Deeper Work

  • Private credit disintermediates the fee, not just the volume. The Financial Stability Board sizes private credit at $1.5–2.0 trillion at end-2024, with the US market roughly tripled since 2019, and states that borrowers predominantly in private credit "typically lack public ratings" — where they are assessed at all it is through unpublished private ratings or "credit estimates," a lighter-touch product involving relatively less detailed analysis (FSB, 6 May 2026). The mechanism is not that debt disappears but that a dollar financed privately generates either no transaction fee or a smaller one than the same dollar financed publicly. Moody's reports over 40% growth in private-credit-related transactions but discloses no revenue, no count and no pricing, so whether this channel is additive or margin-dilutive per dollar of debt cannot be determined from the sources.
  • Generative AI attacks the weakest part of Moody's Analytics. The FY2025 10-K names the risk itself: competitors using generative and agentic AI could deliver cheaper or free credit-risk assessment. The exposure is concentrated in Research and Insights — $1,037M of ARR growing 6%, the slowest of the three MA lines — because that line sells analyst-written credit research over public filings, which is precisely the task large language models do adequately at near-zero marginal cost. A structural repricing there would hit the segment whose margin is already the group's weak point.
  • Price regulation is the regulatory lever that has not yet been pulled. EU supervision of CRAs already extends to pricing conduct, and ESMA's own data show the market at an HHI of 3,815 with no deconcentration since the CRA Regulation was introduced to create competition. A supervisor concluding that fifteen years of pro-competition rules failed has few remaining tools other than intervening in price. The consequence would land on the annual increases applied to the $1,378M monitoring book — the one revenue lever that keeps working when issuance stops, and therefore the one whose loss would remove the downside cushion precisely when it is needed.
  • Litigation follows defaults with a lag, and the precedent is expensive. Moody's charged $863.8M in Q4 2016 to settle with the Department of Justice and 21 state attorneys general over crisis-era structured finance ratings, cutting FY2016 diluted EPS to $1.36 from $4.63 (FY2016 10-K). The FY2025 10-K identifies private credit as an emerging area of regulatory and legal attention. The mechanism is that ratings litigation arrives years after the ratings were assigned, once defaults reveal them — so today's rapid expansion into private credit and first-time mandates creates a liability whose cost, if any, is not knowable for most of a decade.
  • The risks above compound rather than sit independently. A private-credit default cycle would simultaneously close the primary market that drives transaction revenue, expose the ratings assigned during the current expansion to litigation, and arrive when the equity base has been reduced by buybacks from $4,054M to $3,025M in six months. Each is survivable alone; the sequence is what would matter.

What the sources could not answer, and what would need resolving before forming a view:

  • Moody's private credit position is entirely unquantified — no revenue, no ratings count, no pricing, no disclosure of how a credit estimate is priced against a full rating. Given that this is management's most-cited growth theme, its absence from the disclosures is the largest single gap.
  • No retention rate is disclosed for Moody's Analytics, only qualitative language about strong retention. MSCI publishes 94.4% and Verisk publishes one; without a figure, MA's ARR growth cannot be decomposed into pricing, expansion and churn.
  • No revenue or spend is attributed to AI or generative-AI products anywhere in the FY2025 10-K, despite AI being named both as a growth driver and as a competitive threat.
  • The 10-K names no competitor and discloses no market share. All competitive positioning in this memo is therefore built from outside sources, which is the correct treatment, but it means the company's own view of its position is unstated rather than testable.
  • Capex is not split between maintenance and growth, so the sustaining capital requirement of the business is unknown.
  • Fitch publishes no financials at all, being privately held within Hearst, so roughly a sixth of the industry's economics is permanently unobservable.
  • The sale price of the MA Regulatory and ALM Solutions business was not disclosed, and up to $119M of contingent consideration remains unresolved until H2 2026.
  • Whether the medium-term outlook set in February 2022 — at least 10% average annual revenue growth and a low-50s adjusted operating margin — remains operative could not be established; no 2025 or 2026 source affirms or withdraws it. The only current medium-term target found is MA margin reaching the mid-to-high 30s by end-2027.

8. Investor Takeaways

  • This is one exceptional business and one adequate one, sold together. Moody's Ratings is a regulated oligopolist earning a 63.6% margin on a fee worth roughly four basis points of the debt it rates; Moody's Analytics is a subscription data business earning 33.1% against peers at 45–61%.
  • The economic engine is the rated transaction, which pays a fee at issuance and an annuity thereafter. The annuity is the floor — $1,378M in MIS and $3,462M in MA in FY2025 — and everything above it moves with the bond market at roughly 89% incremental and 75% decremental margin.
  • The main growth lever is rated issuance volume, which management explicitly does not forecast well: it guided low-single-digit issuance growth for 2025 and delivered 9% MIS revenue growth, then raised its 2026 assumption mid-year.
  • What could break the story is private credit moving debt into a channel that pays a smaller fee or none, compounded by generative AI repricing the research half of Moody's Analytics — with a litigation tail from today's expansion arriving years later.
  • Watch the transaction-versus-recurring mix, now 70/30 against 56/44 at the FY2022 trough, and the buyback relative to free cash flow, which ran at 165% in H1 2026 with margins at a cyclical peak.
Built with LogoFlowershow